Walk Lighter

I am a detail person, which at times gives me greater delight than those who just don’t seem to notice things.

I marvel at the sky, the trees, the moon.  I notice things people say and I can hear hearts.  I see God at work and answers to prayer, even in the midst of darkness.  I have deep gratitude, even simultaneously when despair comes in like a wave to knock me down.

But all of this detail, at times, can be exhausting.  It is hard for me to step back, let go, and detach.  My mind can race, my worries can linger, and my heart can be unsettled just longing for calm.

I love a phrase I ran into in my studies that gave some shape to the idea of detachment.  It said to let go of the agony.  How true it is, that I carry that weight, despite how much more difficult I make it for myself.  That load, that burden or pressure, that entangled mess I try to figure out.  Let it float.  Walk lighter.

I’m learning to invest and choose how to spend the moments in my day.  Let go of the things I don’t really need.  Appreciate the graces that bring warmth in the middle of a rough week.  Treat myself more gently.  Nurture my heart.

In that freedom of a lighter heart, I can be more refreshed in the present moment.  Less burdened for things that don’t really need my focus and concern right now.  I’m more able to ask myself, what is mine to do?  What do I need in this moment?

Serenity.  Simplicity.  Walk lighter.

One thought on “Walk Lighter

  1. KatherinesDaughter says:

    I love this post. I too am a detail person and can become weighted down by the burden of it all. I heard once to set aside 20 minutes a day just to worry. By doing this, I get it all out of the way! Thanks…Joanne

Leave a Reply

